The Theosophical Society

Photo by: Binsan Oommen Baby | @binsanoommen

The Theosophical Society was founded by Helena Blavatsky and Colonel Henry Olcott in New York in 1875. In 1882, the headquarters of the Society were established in Adyar. Theosophy was a philosophy combining mysticism and spiritualism (with heavy influences from Buddhist and Hindu thought) with metaphysics. The arrival of Annie Besant ushered in a new era and expansion of the headquarters. Following the death of Blavatsky, factions emerged and the organization split between Theosophical Society Adyar and Theosophical Society Pasadena.

Location: The Theosophical Society